Three Refuges

The Three Refuges (or Three Jewels), namely the Buddha, the Dharma and the Sangha (monastic order), are essential to spreading the teachings expounded by the Buddha. Meanwhile the Buddha Triad of Gautama Buddha, Bhaisajyaguru Buddha (Medicine Buddha) and Amitabha Buddha represent the past, present and future respectively. Gautama, lotus flower in hand, was the founder of Buddhism, and the son of King Suddhodana of Kapilavastu. When he was 29 years old, he saw the sick, aged and suffering outside his place. After practising moral teachings for six years, he attained enlightenment under the Bodhi tree and became a buddha. Bhaisajyaguru, the buddha of the realm of Vaiduryanirbhasa in the eastern quarter, can relieve all beings from suffering and lead them to the pure land. Amitabha is the buddha of the realm of Sukhavati (Western Paradise). Due to his infinite light and life, he is also known as Armitayus, which means “infinite life”. It is said that praying to Amitabha Buddha can help deceased persons reach paradise. 


Fortune telling


Birthday of Amitabha Buddha: 17th day of 11th lunar month

Birthday of Bhaisajyaguru Buddha: 9th day and 30th day of 9th lunar month

Birthday of Gautama Buddha: 8th day of 4th lunar month


Kwun Yum Temple, Tsz Wan Shan